Modern Ruth: Susie

Rick and Susie

I met Susie through my past church – she is an absolutely fantastic lady who loves Jesus, her family, and her hobby of miniatures!  Her husband, Rick, is phenomenal and has volunteered with an inner-city food pantry for years.  Here’s their story!

1. What age were you when you got married?

First marriage at 19, second at 47.

2. How did you make use of the time that you were single?

During my 3 year separation from my husband and the three + years before I met Rick, I worked three jobs, had three daughters and a granddaughter at home and spent a lot of time serving at my church. Never a dull moment.

3. What was your biggest struggle as a single person?

I didn’t mind being single because I was so angry I didn’t want anyone in my life. No one wanted me either and that was fine with me. My biggest struggle was dealing with my own insecurity and expectations.

4. What helped you wait on the Lord?

I had a wonderful church family and good friends. My Sunday School teacher and his wife were supportive and truthful with me. My best friend, Ruth, was my constant guide.

5. What were the top five qualities that you were looking for in a husband?

I literally made a list. He had to have a strong relationship with the Lord, be honest, kind, have a Christ-like character, and be funny. (My dad said he had to drive a Ford and have a good job. Dads!)

6. Tell us a little about the journey from meeting to marriage.

Rick and I met in Church choir and our friends fixed us up. It was probably about 4 months after we first met. For the first month we talked on the phone every night for about two hours, asking questions and telling about ourselves. We went on our first date and I convinced myself after that it would never work: my family would hate him, my kids would run him off and my friends would reject him. I cried myself to sleep. He called the next day and asked me out and I went anyway. We dated regularly and after about 8 months he asked and I accepted. We were married on the one year anniversary of our first date.

7. How did you know that he was the man that you were to marry?

I had such a strong feeling that I couldn’t NOT marry Rick. We have always felt strongly that the Lord guided us to the same church to meet and that He placed us together to marry.

8. Now that you are married, what do you think are the most important qualities to look for in a husband?

I think I my initial list still holds true: a strong relationship with the Lord, be honest, kind, have a Christ-like character, and be funny.

9. Looking back, what did God develop in you during your time in singleness that has blessed you in marriage?

He taught me that He has to come first in any relationship and that I must be the wife that He calls me to be. I can’t just do it on auto-pilot and call Him when I mess it up. He gave me a new life, a new heart, a clean slate.

10. What advice would you give to ladies who are single later in life?

From someone who jumped into marriage at an early age and then failed miserably – and then started anew at almost 50 – I would suggest that you develop your strongest relationship with the Lord. Seek out friends that He would want you to have and grow those relationships in positive ways; guard yourself from those who pull you away from the Lord in any way. Don’t look too far into the future, trying to plan out what you think He has in mind for you. Whatever it is, be open to His leading. He never fails.

 

Leave a Reply

