Modern Ruth: Lizzy

Elizabeth Brock2

I heart this super romantic wedding photo – definitely the picture of the fairy tale wedding that we all want to have!  Meet Lizzy and Jason – and her story below is as cute as the picture above!

  1. What age were you when you got married?
  • 33
  1. How did you make use of the time that you were single?
  • Honestly, I didn’t really make good use of it. I really wish I had used that time more strategically. I think I allowed myself to wallow in my singleness way too much. I let myself stay in a funk a lot of the time, so I didn’t leave the house a whole lot.
  1. What was your biggest struggle as a single person?
  • The biggest struggle was a toss-up between not having that closeness with someone and watching all my friends around me getting married and having little ones.
  1. What helped you wait on the Lord?
  • The thing that helped me was coming to the realization that if I settled, I would be absolutely miserable and wouldn’t be living out God’s best life for me.
  1. What were the top five qualities that you were looking for in a husband?
  • Christ follower – loves the Lord
  • Extremely handsome – and yes, it was #2 on the list, as shallow as that may sound.
  • Responsible – I wasted my time dating boys instead of men and I was totally done with that.
  • Funny – a great sense of humor is a must-have!!
  • Athletic – I grew up playing sports and wanted someone who shared that interest,
  1. Tell us a little about the journey from meeting to marriage.
  • We were both sort of dating other people when we met at Highpoint Church (which is a funny story in and of itself). The only reason I went to the Singles class was b/c the guy I was dating asked me to go so that his friend wouldn’t have to go alone. Jason (my husband) was only there b/c the gal he wanted to date said he needed to get in church. Ha! I immediately introduced myself b/c he looked miserable!
  • We became fast friends, played volleyball together, talked about the people we were “dating” and spent quite a bit of time together.
  • We started dating about 6 or 7 months after becoming friends, but a couple of months later, he thought the Lord was telling him to reconcile with his ex-wife. Talk about a heart crushing experience. However, I knew he needed to at least explore that b/c I was not about to talk someone out of trying to restore a previous marriage since God hates divorce.
  • Long story short, they just needed closure, which they got. Jason and I then became officially official in January 2012, were engaged by July, married in September and got pregnant w/ our first kiddo in December. Once we knew, we wasted no time!
  1. How did you know that he was the man that you were to marry?
  • Honestly, this is a question that is just so difficult to answer other than to say, I just knew. I hate that answer, though. I will say that going through premarital counseling really solidified my decision to marry him. I had given the Lord a checklist, if you will, years and years before, and He literally checked off every box… down to the most trivial, seemingly insignificant items (such as, looks really cute in a backwards cap). I know I sound so shallow, but my list was very comprehensive and that one item was not a make it or break it item. =)
  1. Now that you are married, what do you think are the most important qualities to look for in a husband?
  • Christ follower – first and foremost
  • Responsible – this is just so stinkin’ important b/c there are so many fellas who just aren’t responsible! It’s ridiculous.
  • Someone who has similar interests. You don’t want to end up with someone who never wants to do the things you want to do and vice versa. Sounds like a recipe for disaster to me.
  • Someone who communicates well!!
  • Treats his mama right!!!!
  1. Looking back, what did God develop in you during your time in singleness that has blessed you in marriage?
  • He gave me the desire to be an excellent wife so I did a lot of research and reading on what Scripture says about being a good wife and helpmate. He developed me into a more mature person, but I still had a lot of maturing to do even after we got married!
  1. What advice would you give to ladies who are single later in life?
  • DO. NOT. SETTLE. Oh my goodness, I can’t say enough about this. I think back on all the times I could’ve settled and how absolutely miserable I would likely be now!
  • Make the most of the time you have while you have it. Like I said previously, I did not do this. I wish I would’ve gotten involved in non-profs and volunteered my time to help others. What a waste!
  • Do NOT wallow in your singleness. Not only is that a highly unattractive quality to a potential hubs candidate, but it just leaves you in a funk… and that’s no good!
  • Take care of yourself physically. Eat sensibly, exercise regularly and look super cute every time you leave the house! This applies to once you’re married as well!
  • Try to stay as positive as possible and trust in the Lord!
Leave a Reply

