Modern Ruth: Katie

Katie Holland

Beautiful wedding pic!  Check out Katie’s equally beautiful story below!

Age at Marrage

I have now been married for 3 ½ months. I am 37. My husband is 41. This is my first marriage; it is his second.

Tell me a little about the journey from meeting to marriage, starting with how you met!

When I moved to Fort Worth, I began to get plugged in to a small group. I went to an impromptu dinner at someone’s house. Guess who was there… Yep! Michael!! I remember thinking how easy he was to talk to and what a great guy he seemed to be.  Shortly after, he moved out of state.

When he moved back to Fort Worth a few months later, we now shared the same circle of friends. A mutual friend decided that we needed to talk. We went on our first “date” on January 2 two years ago. And during that dinner, I realized that every wall I had built over the past umpteen years during every broken relationship was down. (These walls were mile high. For real.) I had absolutely no walls with him. It was frightening, but I left that night wondering if I was feeling what people felt when they said “they just knew.”

What was your biggest struggle as a single person, and what helped you overcome it?

My biggest struggle as a single woman was the wait. I remember lying in bed one night thinking that I had the house, the car, the job. But I longed for someone to share all of that with. I longed for someone to laugh with me when I walked into a wall. I had many lonely days/ nights, but I wasn’t willing to settle.

What were the top five qualities that you were looking for in a husband? Now that you are married, do you still think that those are the most important qualities to find in a mate?

  1.    Loves the Lord
  2.    Loves me
  3.    Makes me laugh even on the toughest of days (laughing makes everything better for me)
  4.    Treats others with respect
  5.    Lives a life of integrity

Now, I think the two most important qualities are a love and passion for Jesus and COMMUNICATION.

How did you know he was the right man to marry?

It may sound crazy, but I just “knew.”  Michael is not a perfect person. But he is perfect for me.  From day one, my massively high walls were down.  Michael always makes me feel like the most beautiful woman in the room. Conversation is easy with him and I can trust him and his motives even during the difficult conversations. We have fun together. We laugh a lot. We encourage each other. Because we are open and honest with each other, we are able to meet each other’s needs.

Looking back, what did God develop in you during your time of singleness that has blessed you in marriage?

There has been so much blessing from my time alone. First, I got to watch God work in some amazing ways throughout my life, bringing a knowledge that God’s plan is best and better than I could imagine as well as a constant reminder that even when the wait is hard, it is worth it. Second, I fell in love with my Savior. I love Michael and I am submissive to him, but at the same time we both know that I don’t need him to complete me; Jesus did that a long time ago. Instead, Michael COMPLEMENTS me. Third, I grew up and became who I am. Along the way, as I dated others, I found myself trying to be who I thought they wanted me to be. But as I aged, I realized that I didn’t need to be anyone but myself. Fourth, because of the past hurts, I don’t ever take Michael for granted. He is amazing and he should hear it every day.

What advice would you give to ladies who are single later in life?

I would give other ladies the same advice my brother gave me. Don’t spend your life wishing it away while waiting for “Mr. Right” and don’t settle for “Mr. Right Now.”  Live life!

  •       Pursue God and friendships with godly women
  •       When the lonely days come, lean on God: pray, quote scripture, read His word, and remember that He promises you that you are NOT alone
  •       Serve
  •       Grab a friend and get out of the house… maybe even the state

Remember, if and when God chooses to bless you with a life mate, he will absolutely be WORTH THE WAIT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

