Facing Discouragement

Death_to_Stock_Photography_BodyTruths_1

In my single life, dating felt like one discouragement after another.  Each first date I would be hopeful, interested in the conversation, learning about this new person who might be my new husband.  Several times, I even felt like there was a “sign” that I was to be with that person. Until I met my fiance, though, each one was doomed to failure.  It became difficult to stay optimistic.  What do we do with our failures?  Do we doubt that the Lord has marriage in mind for us?  Do we take that as a final word?

I have been reading through the Bible in preparation for marriage – my goal is to read the entire Bible this year!  And I came across this passage in Exodus that spoke to where I was.  Moses had been called by God to lead the people out of Israel.  And he had followed that promise, boldly speaking to Pharoah and asking to let the Israelites leave.  But instead of success, as one would expect from following the Lord, he met failure.  Pharoah harshly increased the workload of the Israelites. and they complained to Moses.

Imagine where Moses was.  Had he not been given a word from the Lord?  Had he not followed the word?  He had done what the Lord asked and instead of victory, he faced failure. So he cried out to the Lord:

“Why, Lord, why have you brought trouble on this people? Is this why you sent me? 23 Ever since I went to Pharaoh to speak in your name, he has brought trouble on this people, and you have not rescued your people at all.” Exodus 5:22 NIV.

Can you not relate to this?  I know I can!  Sometimes my heart just wanted to cry out, Lord, where are you?  I have done what I thought you wanted, and yet you haven’t shown up!  You have not rescued me at all!

But the Lord wasn’t through with Moses.  He had a response for him!

 Then the Lord said to Moses, “Now you will see what I will do to Pharaoh: Because of my mighty hand he will let them go; because of my mighty hand he will drive them out of his country.”

God also said to Moses, “I am the Lord. I appeared to Abraham, to Isaac and to Jacob as God Almighty,[a] but by my name the Lord[b] I did not make myself fully known to them. I also established my covenantwith them to give them the land of Canaan, where they resided as foreigners. Moreover, I have heard the groaning of the Israelites, whom the Egyptians are enslaving, and I have remembered my covenant. Exodus 6:1-5

If you are where I have been, I hope this brings you encouragement!  The Lord is similarly saying to you – now you will see what I will do.  Are you discouraged?  Just wait to see the greatness of the Lord!  Are you feeling lost?  The Lord has not forgotten you!  Are you feeling small and forgotten in your circumstances?  The Lord says that He is I AM and HE has established a covenant with you that will not be forgotten.

Moses wasn’t wrong to trust in the Lord, nor had the Lord misled him in His plan for Moses.  The Lord’s plan would still be accomplished, just not in the time or in the way that Moses expected.  The same is true for you.  If God has given you a heart for marriage and relationship, He has not forgotten you.  He will come through and be victorious! But it may not be in the way you expect or in the time you want.  Just keep trusting in the Lord and He will bring His plan for you to completion.

For my readers, have you been facing discouragement?  What has the Lord been speaking to you?

Photo credit to Death to the Stock Photo.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Facing Discouragement

  1. I have been facing discouragement just like you had mentioned in the beginning of your blog. I am also a woman of faith and I am trying so hard to believe that God will bring the right man into my life at the right time. Great read, thanks for the encouragement!

    • You are welcome! And yes, the wait can seem really long and hard. We can’t know why God hasn’t brought the right person, and it just seems unfair. But God asks for our faith and trust even during difficulty. So hang in there – in the end, when you finally do meet the right person, you will look back on this time as a season of growth! Best wishes for you!

Leave a Reply

