Green Grass

green grass

“The grass is always greener on the other side.”
 
I was reminded of this well worn saying a few days ago. 
 
While I was in a waiting room, pieces of a conversation began falling within my earshot. It sounded like friendly chatter between colleagues, a married man and a single woman. The man’s voice danced with nostalgia as he told tales about his adventures when he was unmarried. But his voice became less animated and more grave when he spoke about his current life as a husband.
 
“Do you know why people gain like 15 pounds when they get married?” he asked. “It’s because food and booze are the only happiness. You come home and you’re just…defeated.” 
 
The man went on to say that he would caution the bride and groom at the next wedding he attended, gesticulating his warnings from his seat. 
 
As a newlywed, his statement saddened me. Granted, every marriage is expressly distinctive. And the volatile essence of life is bound to affect it, in good ways and bad. But enjoying the memories of an unattached past while feeling resigned to a marital present is heartbreaking. 
 
It reminded me that marriage is not a wealthy destination, where we’ve earned enough spiritual riches to coast through life. 

 

 “But as for me, I am poor and needy; please hurry to my aid, O God.  You are my Helper and my Savior;O Lord, do not delay.”  Psalm 70:5 (NLT)

In both singleness and marriage, our utter need for Jesus is consistently revealed and displayed. 
 
Whether it’s continuing to trust God while waiting for love, praying for the strength to forgive a spouse, or asking the Lord for wisdom about a first date or a divorce, leaning on and living in Him will never cease to be crucial. 
The grass is not greener on the other side. Both lawns have to be watered with the Living Water.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Jennifer Jennifer Richardson

Hi, there! My name is Jennifer. I’m 31 and live in the D.C. area. I love Jesus, R & B music, and sugar in all its forms:-)In June 2016, I married my amazing husband, Calvin. I was completely single and waiting throughout my entire twenties. So I know the prayers, fears, and tears that come with prolonged singleness very well. I am excited to share my story and encourage single women who are waiting for God’s best!

Leave a Reply

