War of Words

word-war-1042268_960_720

My coworker’s nails rapidly pounded against the ceramic mug. The thin taps pinged in the air as I tried to reassure her.

In her lap was her performance review and she was terrified of reading it. Still frantically tapping her fingers, she breathed a shuddering sigh.

“I am so worried about what it’s going to say.”

Looking at ourselves through the lens of someone else can be crippling.

When another describes who you are, bombastically in a crowd, whispered in a half empty room, or written in a confidential email, we take it with absolute legitimacy.

Because if someone can give voice to it, then it must not be made up.

It must be true, we think. I am that.

As a result, our strides regress to crawls. Our heart becomes a hostage of hesitancy and we become afraid to move.

Which is why God wants us to hear and believe Him.

Jesus put value, esteem, and purpose in every single one of us.

We are not only just His daughters or His creation.

We are His best.

Ephesians 2:10 says, “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things He planned for us long ago.”

We are works of beauty that are cherished more than we will ever know.

Important souls who have much to offer, much to enjoy, and much to do.

Too much joy is found in the existence that God gives, which is why the devil uses the world’s voice to keep us from fully living.

You are not that.

You are not what they say.

You are who He says.

In the war of words, God’s Word always wins out.

Toss their opinions and trust His truth.

How have you believed man’s words over God’s truth?

___________________________________________________________

Jennifer  Jennifer Richardson

Hi, there! My name is Jennifer. I’m 31 and live in the D.C. area. I love Jesus, R & B music, and sugar in all its forms:-)In June 2016, I married my amazing husband, Calvin. I was completely single and waiting throughout my entire twenties. So I know the prayers, fears, and tears that come with prolonged singleness very well. I am excited to share my story and encourage single women who are waiting for God’s best!

 

Leave a Reply

