Proverbs 3

waiting-feet

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding-Proverbs 3:5

It was 3:53 pm on a Thursday afternoon.

The swings were still. Jump ropes were stacked into swirling circles. Balls were lined up neatly against the wall.The playground was empty…except for my sister and me. School had dismissed over an hour ago, and we were still waiting for my mother to pick us up.

The custodian, Ms. Rhonda, swept dust nearby, working a double shift as the school’s maintenance staff and our impromptu babysitter. Whenever a car would pull into the neighboring parking lot, the three of us would crane our necks to look, hoping it was my mother. But when it turned out to be someone else, Ms. Rhonda returned to sweeping, my sister to playing, and me to festering.

I’d pace the pavement in my navy blue plaid jumper and fume.

Mommy is ALWAYS late. My friends walk home by themselves all the time! How come we can’t? Where is she? Mommy doesn’t care about picking us up. If she did, she’d be on time. She just doesn’t care.

But my mother did care. A lot. She cared enough not to want us to walk through sketchy areas of our neighborhood.  And enough to have us wait until she made it from her job 45 minutes away to transport us home under her guard.

But my 9-year-old self didn’t understand that. According to my superior juvenile intellect, all I understood was that I was waiting unnecessarily. There was no good reason behind this wait. And what I wanted was not here when I wanted it to be. So I took the delay as a sign of disinterest and refusal. When it was the furthest thing from the truth.

There may be some things that God is taking His time in giving you. Prayers that seemingly fall into a heavenly black hole. Repetitive pleas that make your mouth dry. It can get old at times. And you may feel like that little girl in the navy blue plaid jumper.

But our comprehension is so narrow and limited. We simply cannot rely on it. The Lord not only sees what you desire but sees every thread of time. Remind yourself that He cares too much to be unconcerned. He has in mind the perfect moment and way to release your answer so confidently place every prayer and heart cry in His lap.

Join the conversation!  How have you learned to lean on the Lord rather than your own understanding or what struck you from Proverbs 3?

______________________________________________________________

Jennifer Jennifer Richardson

Hi, there! My name is Jennifer. I’m 31 and live in the D.C. area. I love Jesus, R & B music, and sugar in all its forms:-)In June 2016, I married my amazing husband, Calvin. I was completely single and waiting throughout my entire twenties. So I know the prayers, fears, and tears that come with prolonged singleness very well. I am excited to share my story and encourage single women who are waiting for God’s best!

5 thoughts on “Proverbs 3

  1. Jen, your posts have been fantastic!!! I don’t know how I’m going to follow you tomorrow! The Holy Spirit is definitely speaking through you. I love this analogy – we don’t know why God, our parent, operates in the way that He does because our mindset is just too limited and too focused on OUR here and now. We are impatient, but as you depict, it is with a child’s impatience. Love that perspective!!

    I was also touched by Proverbs 3:3 – “Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck, write them on the tablet of your heart.” This struck me because waiting can be so discouraging. We have to hold fast to love and faithfulness to keep our lights shining!

    • Awww, thanks, Joanna 🙂 To God be the glory! I know your posts will be wonderful!

      Yes, that’s one of my favorite verses in this chapter too! I’ve found it so easy to grow lax in love, faithfulness, and joy when I’m waiting for an answer or a situation to be resolved. But this is a great reminder.

      I also love verse 27-“Do not withhold good from those who deserve it when it’s in your power to help them.” I’m raising my hand as someone who’s gotten weary in well doing, especially when I was single! It felt like my time was taken as a given and refusing out of spite was a irresistible notion. But if I can help or serve someone who needs it, I should, no matter how I feel. God will get the glory out of it.

    • Thanks for the reply, Mixed and Modest! It’s a hard but true reminder: He knows what’s best for us, the best answer and the best time for us to receive it :-).

Leave a Reply

