Proverbs 12

daydream

“Thieves are jealous of each other’s loot, but the godly are well rooted and bear their own fruit.” – Proverbs 12:12

I have a confession to make.  I am a daydreamer.  At any given point in the day, I might be walking the sandy beaches of Hawaii, eating bacon, riding a unicorn, taking a glorious nap, or even meeting my future husband – but only in my mind.  I’ve tried and tried to keep my mind from wandering, but in the days of “Adulting is Overrated,” it can be a welcome alternative.

Well, if you’re anything like me then I’m going to give the two of us a serious wake up call.  Kind of like Daydreams Gone Wrong.  Because there’s nothing wrong with dreaming.  In fact, I truly believe a God who gets excited about dreamers, and relishes the idea of giving us what we dream of.  And honestly, he’s probably disappointed in how little all of us actively dream and pursue those dreams.

But the trouble comes when our fantastic daydreams are just excuses to covet what others have.  You know those couples whose life looks absolutely perfect on Instagram.  The wife is always slaying in fresh makeup and stilettos.  The husband is always doing manly things and helping around the house (with a beard, of course).  The kids look like they’re always listening and lending helping hands to their neighbors.

But outside of those snaps in time, that family isn’t perfect.  And are you willing to live your life vicariously?  Stealing moments, treasures, and people that belong to others?

In the (not so distant) past, I’ve certainly been guilty of pretending to have other people’s businesses, marriages, and basically anything I deemed successful.  However, taking those bits of joy from others creates a bitter root that can produce no good fruit.

But somehow little by little, God can make the lives of others less and less appealing.  Not in a bad way, but in a way that allows you to see that what he has for you is for you.  And it is way better than stealing the moments, treasures, and people he has for others.

So stop wasting time wishing you had what someone else has.  The grass is not always greener.  And maybe the grass is only greener because you’ve let things on your side of the fence wither and die trying to keep an eye on everyone else’s landscape.

So instead of outright or even subconscious neglect, make use of everything you find or that finds you – the pretty, the hideous, the mighty, and the seemingly dispensable.  And allow those things to take root and bear fruit.

Then don’t worry.  When the time is right, the right person will stop and take notice of every beautiful thing growing from your life, and might even be able to help you prune the not-so-beautiful without judgement.

Now, back to the bacon and unicorns in my mind 😉

Join the conversation!  Are you also a daydreamer or what struck you from Proverbs 12?

______________________________________________________________

roz Roz

Hey there!  My name is Roz.  I’m a full time working, single, homeschooling mother to the world’s funniest 5 year old on the planet.  I’m an introvert who is obsessed with bacon.  I like to play music extremely loudly in my car and will keep singing at full voice even when you turn to stare.  I also blog occasionally over at beautyfullyflawed.com where I write words about Jesus, homeschooling, and the beauty of imperfections.  I look forward to sharing my imperfections with you, as well.

2 thoughts on “Proverbs 12

  1. I love this! And fellow daydreamer here! Most of mine take place with me in perfect make up and hair somewhere on a stage doing a Beyoncésque dance routine. 😇

    I love the reminder that what is for you is for you. Playing the comparison game and living vicariously has gotten so easy in the age of Instagram. But God written each of us our own story.

Leave a Reply

