Proverbs 13

sand

I love that Proverbs 13 is called “Walk With the Wise”. It’s so fitting for these little nuggets of truth and wisdom! There are so many amazing verses in chapter 13. (I mean pretty much ALL of Proverbs is amazing!) So I wanted to share just a few of my favorites.

These verses encompass wisdom that not only single women, but all women (and all Christians) should be writing on their heart. Meditate on these few verses and allow our Father to speak to you through them.

In verse 4 we learn about spiritual laziness. “The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.”

It is not enough to say you’re a Christian and go to church. But are you living everyday with the overwhelming passion to follow God’s commands? This is truly the most basic principle to living a life full of joy in the Lord! Are our souls diligent in working to become closer to Him and to look more like Him every day? Are we focused on Him and His plan, or are we praying we get what we want while at the same time feeling defeated because nothing seems to be working out? Seek Him – diligently, daily, hourly. Forever. And He will make known to you His plan and He will prepare your heart for whatever He has for you.

I just love verse 5: “The righteous hates falsehood, but the wicked brings shame and disgrace.”

The lies of the world will tell you that you need to be married to enjoy a full life. Hold on to the truth that you are complete in Him! Hold on to the truth that you are His bride no matter your marital status! When everyone else is getting married and starting a family and you feel empty and lost (I knew this feeling all too well!!) know that this is the enemy creeping in. Do not believe the lie that says you are not whole and wonderful and important in Him. There’s a song by Far Flung Tin Can called “I Am Defined” and the second verse is my favorite.  It says “I am not defined by what man sees, He sees my heart He lives in me, I was created by His hands, I was created for this romance.” You, friend, were created for HIS romance. All other love is second!

I have verse 9 written on a sticky note at work because it’s such a great reminder: “The life of the godly is full of light and joy, but the light of the wicked will be snuffed out.”

He promises you love and joy, y’all! It’s okay to want a relationship, to want to feel a connection with someone and have the desire for children.  BUT don’t allow that to rob your joy. Don’t allow that to become more important than living every day for Christ. Allow Him to fill you with His joy!!

Verses 13 & 18 & 20 are kinda “mic drop” verses if you ask me! I love the strong truth here: “Whoever despises the Word brings destruction on himself, but he who reveres the commandment will be rewarded….Poverty and disgrace come to him who ignores instruction, but whoever heeds reproof is honored….Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm.”

It’s so important to be in your Word every day! To seek His scriptures for wisdom and guidance! It’s also so important to have a handful of Christ-centered friendships to encourage you and push you to Christ. In times when you may be doubting God, doubting His plan and His sovereignty, they will remind you and lift you up in prayer. If you were to look at the five people you spend most of your free time with, can you say that they are pointing you towards Christ’s truths? Be willing to be corrected and steered in the right direction with His Word and the words of Godly counsel.

I pray that you find your joy and peace in Him before seeking out any other. I pray that you allow God to prepare your heart for whatever may come: If that involves marriage, I pray that He shapes and molds you into a Godly wife. I pray He prepares your heart for the constant battle of selfishness that is so plainly seen in marriage and that He molds your mindset to become about how your marriage can be used by Him. If His plan doesn’t involve marriage for you, I pray that He will bring you comfort and peace regardless of your marital status. I pray that you follow the direction of Paul and lead a life with the sole purpose to bring glory to His name with no other distractions!

Above all else, remember that you are His treasure. You are HIS bride!

Blessings,

Keri

_____________________________________________________________

Josh&Keri Keri Underwood

I’m Keri! I’m a lover of Christ and receiver of His unending grace. I love all things book related and might have an addiction to white cheddar popcorn and Dr. Pepper. I am recently married to Josh who, frankly I just don’t deserve it. Isn’t God GOOD?! Most of my life my passion has been children’s ministry but the past few years God has been shaping my heart for women’s ministry. My sister and I started Little Light on a Hill with one goal in mind: women. We want to challenge women to dig deeper into their Word and to create a community of all different types of women who can lean on each other and help each other grow. I hope you join us there!

10 thoughts on “Proverbs 13

  1. This was great, Keri! Thanks for sharing. I love the line that we were created for His romance. Every other love we encounter is life, husband, boyfriend, child, will always be behind Him.

    • Thanks so much Jennifer! You should really check out the song. It’s seriously been on repeat in my house 🙂

  2. Can I give you a virtual hug? I so wished we could be IRL friends! But I’ll settle for following you around on the internet (in a not-creepy way). Thank you for sharing about wisdom. You are right; these verses hold wisdom for all women, single or married!

    • Haha Kelly you are so wonderful!! Thank you for following me around the internet because I follow you around too!! Maybe one day we can be IRL friends 🙂

  3. Hey Keri! Thanks so much for participating in our study and being a light! I love your wisdom! What struck me from your post was this: If you were to look at the five people you spend most of your free time with, can you say that they are pointing you towards Christ’s truths? I think that’s so important! And not just the five people, but honestly, what do we spend the most time with – MEDIA! I spend more time listening to pop music and watching TV shows than I do with my husband and friends (sad, I know, but I’m sure it’s true!). We all need to guard our hearts and minds against what we’re daily absorbing!

    Thanks again for the post!

    • You are SO right! What we spend our time doing, listening to, watching, etc is so important to look at. I’m right there with you on music! Thanks again for letting me be a small part in this ministry!!

Leave a Reply

