Proverbs 17

welding

Proverbs 17:3 – “Fire tests the purity of silver and gold, but the Lord tests the heart.” (NLT)

In understanding the above verse, it is important to understand how gold and silver are purified. In today’s context, the silver or gold ore will be melted in an induction furnace, but during the ancient times this form of refining involved the craftsman sitting next to a hot fire with molten metal in a crucible being stirred and skimmed to remove the impurities or dross that rise to the top of the molten metal with temperature reaching 1000 degree Celsius. So how does this analogy relate to the condition of our hearts?

Firstly, it tells me that I am precious in the sight of the Lord, more precious than gold and silver. Why bother searching for the precious metal and refining them unless they are valuable?  It is when a substance is of value that it is worth refining. The gold and silver metals are refined and made into beautiful exquisite jewelries!

Secondly, it gives me a hint as to what the Lord expects the condition of my heart to be. Pure gold in its original form is solid at room temperature, very malleable and never tarnishes. As women in Christ, the posture of our hearts should be of the surrender, malleable towards His leading- which also means being sensitive to His correction so that we become holy (living a life that is set apart and pleasing to Him).

In my extended season of waiting right now, each passing year symbolizes the rising temperature of the refiner’s fire, revealing the impurities of my heart:

Whenever I receive a wedding invite and feel overlooked by God – do I still believe that God’s faithfulness still stands true in my life?

Whenever I see couples being blissfully happy together (thanks to Facebook) – do I still believe that He loves me and not withhold anything good from me?

When it is an ‘almost relationship’ – will I stay bitter and blame God for allowing that guy into my life?

The above circumstances compel me to search my heart and be vulnerable before God (daily) by allowing the Craftsman the access to remove the impurities that surface.

What does having a pure heart mean? Psalm 24:4 gives us a hint, it mentions that a person who has a pure heart is one who does not trust in an idol or swear by false God. An idol could be anything that comes before God. Personally, applying Psalm 24:4 in the area of singleness means availing myself to God’s ‘refining process’ of my heart and not allowing marriage/ relationship to be an Idol.  So yes, God is still faithful and I know He loves me. He is the same yesterday, today and forevermore. It is in knowing this truth that I find my peace.

______________________________________________________________

timmie-liew Timmie

Hello, my name is Timmie and I’m from Malaysia. I am a lawyer by profession. I am a charismatic, passionate person and enjoy beautiful things in life such as travelling to different cities to appreciate the culture. I love fashion and appreciate ‘coffee time’ with people to talk about life and build meaningful relationships. I’m passionate about the things of God, the Church and authentic leadership. My deepest desire is to embrace all that God has called me to be and be a blessing to whoever that God has placed in my life past, present and future. Our God is a GREAT God, and the best is yet to come ! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Proverbs 17

  1. I love this analogy! Each of us should view our waiting periods (for a husband, for a job, for a child, etc) as a time of testing and purification. God is going to evaluate how we use this time and whether we continue to trust Him despite hard times!

    • Love, love, love the verse, and the book of Proverds :)… it’s been exciting & reflective 2 weeks. Thanks for the encouragement xx

Leave a Reply

