Inexplicable

hillary

It feels like I’m walking in a dream after this week’s election. Maybe you feel that way, too.

Perhaps it’s a good dream. Or a bad dream. Or one of those disconnected dreams that you have after eating cheddar cheese popcorn with strawberry punch.

But it’s definitely surreality. The world looks different and the air feels warped. And as I take in this new unknown, my mind keeps focusing on one person: Hillary Clinton. For her, this surely is not a sweet dream.

Regardless of how you may feel about her, it is undeniable that Hillary must be deeply hurt. She wore her desire on her sleeve and it was slowly dissected from her arm in a public autopsy.

While watching the post election coverage, I kept wondering how she was feeling. If she had cried. If she was angry. If she was numbering her regrets.

But while acknowledging the disappointment, in her concession speech, fragments of hope are present. She quoted from the Book of Galatians:

“And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.” Galatians 6:9 (NKJV)

A relationship seems to be headed for the altar only to take a sharp turn and crash. A career ascension sputters when the job suddenly announces layoffs.

Sometimes, the story changes. And we can exhaust ourselves trying to put together the puzzle of why.

But it’s good to remember that the story is written by the Lord and His movements can always be trusted. Let’s not lose heart in the inexplicable seasons.

_____________________________________________________________

Jennifer Jennifer

Hi, there! My name is Jennifer. I’m 31 and live in the D.C. area. I love Jesus, R & B music, and sugar in all its forms:-)In June 2016, I married my amazing husband, Calvin. I was completely single and waiting throughout my entire twenties. So I know the prayers, fears, and tears that come with prolonged singleness very well. I am excited to share my story and encourage single women who are waiting for God’s best!

 

One thought on “Inexplicable

Leave a Reply

