MRP 2017: Building a Foundation

foundation

Whew!  This past week has been an emotional rollercoaster that I am still coming to grips with.  What it means for my country and for the world, I don’t know.  But what I do know is that God is still in control and I am trying to stand firm on that.

In the meantime, I have also been thinking about praying about the future of this blog.  What is our vision?  The October study was wonderful and powerful.  Should we try to do more of that, or should we continue doing random posts, or should we still be seeking profiles of women who got married after 30?  How do we continue encouraging singles without posting the same thing time and again?  My Type A self needs a blueprint!

The answer that finally came to me (with the help of Jennifer and my friend Abby) is that we’re going to still do a bit of all of the above, but within a larger framework.  I love books like the Happiness Project and Jen Hatmaker’s Seven (if you haven’t read the latter, you really should!!), in which the writers challenge themselves to grow by choosing to do something different each month.  Sometimes it is only by challenging ourselves that we really see what we are capable of!

In addition, I know both Jennifer and I have written several times about the importance of building a foundation – both before and after marriage.  Jesus teaches us to build our houses on solid rock and not shifting sand.  So we’re going to use that as our framework.

In 2017, our overall theme will be “Building a Foundation.”  Each month, we’re going to choose a different theme that is part of building a foundation of rock for your future marriage.  Examples of monthly themes will be “Being Healthy,” “Stepping Outside Your Comfort Zone,” “Building Spiritual Disciplines,” “Being in the Word,” etc.  My vision is that this blog will be a space of encouragement, inspiration, and accountability.  We can challenge each other and ourselves to grow into godly wives and husbands.

I hope that you will join with us!  Come be a part of the challenges, write posts, offer encouragement, pray, and let’s each help one another in building a godly foundation!

First step: What suggestions do you have for monthly themes??  What do you think are important parts of a foundation in being a godly spouse?

2 thoughts on “MRP 2017: Building a Foundation

  1. Although I’m not married, I always have to be mindful of my worth as a woman, human, and child of God. Too often we put our worth and success in our marital status. So maybe one of your monthly themes could be centered around worth and value? 🙂

Leave a Reply

