The Wall

counter

It’s hard to believe that we have reached the final month of 2016!

December, a time of festive events, sparkling lights, and warm magical feelings. And growing up, there was nothing more magical to me at Christmas time than a department store.

As soon as my mother’s fingers loosened on my wrist, I was off to explore this grand kingdom. The circular clothing racks would transform into miniature weeping willows. I’d part them to carefully settle into a hidden cave, a cozy and dark hideaway specially carved for me. My fantastical trek was always cut short when my mother’s voice reached through the colorful trees and beckoned me to the register.

Or as I’d call it, “The Wall.”

To a short 6-year-old, the register counter was a particularly annoying presence. Sullenly teasing me with its height, shrouding what was behind it in wallpapered mystery. Balancing on the tips of my Keds with ballerina concentration offered no real revelation. Just slivers. Flashes of dollar bills in metal drawers. Peeks of logoed paper bags. Views of glass merchandise on clear shelves.

I’d only catch drops of what was there before I crashed back on my heels,back into frustrating cluelessness.

For all the joy and beauty of this time of year, it can also bring crisp reflection. We replay the past 11 months and hope for or dread the next 12.

We wonder what’s around the corner. What’s going to happen next year? What awaits us in the next chapters of our lives? What. Is. Next?

But all remains hidden behind the wall of time and our limited understanding.

“I trusted in, relied on, and was confident in You, O Lord; I said, You are my God. My times are in Your hands. –Psalm 31:14-15a (AMP)

Our Heavenly Father cups our entire life in His great, good hands.

He sees and controls what lies behind and beyond the wall, beyond this month, beyond this year. He sees what we don’t. And we can trust Him.

What are you grateful for in 2016? What are you looking forward to in 2017?

_____________________________________________________

Jennifer Jennifer

Hi, there! My name is Jennifer. I’m 31 and live in the D.C. area. I love Jesus, R & B music, and sugar in all its forms:-)In June 2016, I married my amazing husband, Calvin. I was completely single and waiting throughout my entire twenties. So I know the prayers, fears, and tears that come with prolonged singleness very well. I am excited to share my story and encourage single women who are waiting for God’s best!

2 thoughts on “The Wall

  1. I definitely empathize with this! It struck me that I have been in a constant state of waiting – I waited for years to get married and then four months before I got married, I lost my job. Just as I used to get frustrated in waiting for marriage – Lord, just show me who it’s going to be and when! – I get frustrated in my job search. I just want to know the ending. I want to know what’s next!

    But I can’t. None of us can. Instead, we have to use this time to make a choice – either we’re going to trust God, or we’re going to stress ourselves out trying to control the situation and our circumstances. And at the end of the day, it’s still going to be God’s plan rather than ours. So really our only choice is to trust Him. Not always the easiest option, but it’s the best.

    For 2017, I look forward to strengthening my marriage, building a community here at MRP, and finding a longterm job!

    • Yes! When it came to waiting, particularly for marriage, I felt like I was in a perpetual waiting room, checking my watch and tapping my toes. But I had to learn to trust God, even if I had to remind my self minute by minute, that His way is always better.

      That’s great, Joanna! If I may crib some of your 2017 goals, some of mine are to see MRP grow, grow deeper in God, and grow deeper in my marriage. So 2017 is the year of growth for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

