MRP Chatroom!

christian-but-doesnt-attend-church

6 thoughts on “MRP Chatroom!

  1. I would like to sound super pious and say of course not! But history would dictate otherwise. As an online dater, I went on many dates with people who on their profiles said that they were Christian, but that turned out to mean that they were raised Christian, or they went to church on major holidays only, or that they believed in Jesus “but didn’t like organized religion.” I didn’t end up with these guys, but I did date them!

    Luckily, I married a guy who had a church relationship prior to me. It’s true – I read the Bible way more often than he does and probably pray more. But we hold each other accountable to our Christian beliefs, it’s not a fight on Sunday morning to go to church, we’re in agreement about how to raise our children – these are important! So rather than what I did, I recommend you just avoid dating non-Christians – not worth it!

  2. This is an interesting one. Because I’ve dated guys who went to church, but in action and words were not true Christ follwers. It was more of a hobby, or something they did on some Sundays because….that’s just what they did on Sunday. I was one of those people, so I understand the mindset. I think it’s more important that all of these things line up. Actions, words, lifestyle, AND wanting to be a part of a community. Not just for encourgaement and hearing nice songs, but to hold you accountable and provide examples for righteous living.

    • I also agree with you about guys who went to church but who weren’t really Christ followers! A lot of people behave one way on Sunday and a completely different way every other day of the week! And how true about needing actions, words, lifestyle, AND community to line up – a person of faith and integrity should be consistent in his or her life!

    • I also agree with you about guys who went to church but who weren’t really Christ followers! A lot of people behave one way on Sunday and a completely different way every other day of the week! And how true about needing actions, words, lifestyle, AND community to line up – a person of faith and integrity should be consistent in his or her life!

  3. Hmm, that’s a good question. I honestly don’t think I would. I agree that attending church on Sundays doesn’t mean you’re a Christian just like saying “moo” on a barnyard doesn’t mean you’re a cow.:-) Your lifestyle and your actions speak the loudest about your beliefs.

    But at the same time, I’d wonder about how a man was growing in faith without regular instruction, regular encouragement, and regular communication with other Christians if he didn’t attend church.

    • LOL! “Just like saying ‘moo’ in a barnyard doesn’t mean you’re a cow”! =)

      I agree – you would have to wonder how they were growing in faith – and also what faith even meant to them if they weren’t seeking opportunities for religious instruction!

Leave a Reply

