Bloom

suburb

A few years ago, it wasn’t hard for me to find a way to serve.  I lived in a city that was rich with both beauty and scars. As I traversed sidewalks on my way to work in the morning, I passed men sleeping in restaurant entryways. The air of the afternoon gently swayed the drug addicted women who stood and stared emptily. Police sirens and fire engines dueted in the night. Showing God’s love was as simple as a walk around the corner to give a sandwich to the homeless man or a chat with the woman by my bus stop. Need surrounded me so much that I collided with a compassion mission daily.

But then I moved to suburbia. The concrete jungle outside my door was replaced with an emerald green hamlet. And I noticed that as my address changed, so had my routine. There were no more walks to the bus stops. No more interactions near the subways. No more deafening sirens.  Those wounded by llfe were no longer a footstep away.

How can I serve now? I can always go back to my former city and volunteer. But such moments were fixed at specific times. How can I live a life of doing for others if there was no one around me to serve? The situation puzzled me until I realized something.

We won’t all have the experience to live among those who are in dire need. But we will all definitely meet someone who has a need, period. And the Lord will present opportunities for us to showcase His care.

“As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace.” 1 Peter 4:10 (ESV)

Be a listening and praying ear to your coworker who is worried about their child’s health. Offer to rake the leaves from your neighbor’s yard. Send an anonymous gift card to your friend who can’t afford groceries this month. Serve wherever you can however you can.

God wants us to bloom where He plants us.

____________________________________________________________

Jennifer Jennifer

Hi, there! My name is Jennifer. I’m 32 and live in the D.C. area. I love Jesus, R & B music, and sugar in all its forms :-).In June 2016, I married my amazing husband, Calvin. I was completely single and waiting throughout my entire twenties. So I know the prayers, fears, and tears that come with prolonged singleness very well. I am excited to share my story and encourage single women who are waiting for God’s best!

2 thoughts on “Bloom

Leave a Reply

