March Challenge Finish!

DeathtoStock_SWEAT-7

We made it to the end of another month – how did you do??  Were you encouraged?  Did you have at least one moment where you saw your true beauty and value?  I hope so!

I love to listen to people’s autobiographies/memoirs, particularly when the author read it themselves.  In this month, I listened to both Megyn Kelly’s and Padma Lakshmi’s memoirs.  What struck me about both of these women’s stories is that both of them talked about feeling unattractive.  And these women are GORGEOUS.  It reminded me again that our FEELINGS of unattractiveness and unworthiness are completely not based on reality.  They are based on what is in our heads and hearts.

If that is the case, then the only thing that will change our negative feelings about ourselves is not running after some tangible, outward change – if I lose weight, if I volunteer, if I make all As, if I get that promotion – but working on our inner beliefs.  Don’t get me wrong – I love goal-setting and meeting goals can definitely improve your self-confidence.  But they are not going to get you to long-lasting change.  You need to confront that inner belief.

Stop listening to your own internal monologue that tells you that you’re not good enough and start listening to what God says.  HE says that you’re beautiful.  HE says that you’re chosen.  HE says that you’re worth everything, even the death of His son.

The challenge for this month was to do something that would help you know that you’re worth it – worth love, worth value, worth being the apple of God’s eye.  What did you do?

For me, this challenge manifested in an unexpected way.  I started a new job at the beginning of February.  Academics and then work have always been idols for me and my latest job has a big salary and a lot of pressure – in other words, the type of job I would normally expect myself to completely stress out about as I worked hard to prove myself to everyone else.

But as this post is going live, I am actually in Ireland with my husband.  We scheduled this vacation months ago and had been looking forward to it, but having just started a new job, it was the last time I would want to take a week off.  Moreover, it happened to fall on the same week as the annual national organization conference.  I felt the pressure to cancel the trip.  But I didn’t.  I chose me.  I chose my husband.  I chose not running after an idol, and instead having the confidence to put myself first.  I am worth this vacation.  I am worth people’s respect in the workplace even if I don’t drop everything for the job.

What about you? Respond below and be entered to win a free book!

2 thoughts on “March Challenge Finish!

  1. Yay! Vacations with our loved ones is a fantastic and way too underused way of valuing ourselves and our relationships. I’m so glad you chose you 🙂

    Last month, I tried to turn off that internal monologue and accepted the compliments I received without throwing them right back. I wasn’t 100% successful but I was better than I usually was.

    • That’s awesome! Good for you! You are super talented and very deserving of the compliments that come your way!!

      I also heard once that if we do not accept compliments for our God-given talents, we are in fact not being humble, but being disparaging of God’s gift to us. The compliment is really to God and not ours to dismiss. So that’s another way to look at it!

Leave a Reply

