The Best Investment

body

Hi!  My name is Roz and I have a budget.  There are line items for tithes and offerings, mortgage, utilities, student loans, contributing to my IRA, and all those amazing things that take your money as you get older. Adulting. Is. So. Much. Fun.

And as we grow up and learn the lessons of life, we keep track of where our money is going and where it’s coming from.  We listen to sermons and Dave Ramsey the heck out of being good stewards over our finances.  But rarely does anyone tell you the cost of not being a good steward over the one thing you came into this world with – your body.

God has put in eternal effort and endless time crafting bodies that are fearfully and wonderfully made, but we allow others to make withdrawals that they didn’t earn and can never repay.  Now to those of you reading this who have never crossed physical boundaries in relationships, do you think the breakdowns you’ve allowed in emotional and spiritual barriers are any less expensive?

No matter the line crossed, we’ve all been there.  Feeling as if pieces of us are missing after every break up or failed relationship.  It’s only natural to give of yourself when taking the risk of getting to know a significant (or insignificant) other.  And I’m not trying to make you feel hopeless or fear condemnation.  Because I serve a God who can replace all that’s been lost and repair what’s been broken.

But before you tether yourself to another, whether physically, emotionally, or spiritually, outside of marriage.  Ask yourself, what are you worth?  Are you willing to pay the price of regret, shame, and heartbreak?  Our minds, hearts, and bodies should be bound to Christ and his promises.  I’m not saying it’s easy or even easily attainable, but the price He paid has established this as the best investment you’ll ever make.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

roz Roz

Hey there!  My name is Roz.  I’m a full time working, single, homeschooling mother to the world’s funniest 5 year old on the planet.  I’m an introvert who is obsessed with bacon.  I like to play music extremely loudly in my car and will keep singing at full voice even when you turn to stare.  I also blog occasionally over at beautyfullyflawed.com where I write words about Jesus, homeschooling, and the beauty of imperfections.  I look forward to sharing my imperfections with you, as well.

Leave a Reply

