Stewardship of Your Body

running

You are a temple of God, as we are told in 1 Corinthians 6:19. A temple of God! That is a huge thought—and a tremendous responsibility.

We are given this one life to live on earth, and this body is the vehicle we have been given to do so. It is the body with which we seek God, our purpose, and love others. As I have gotten more serious in my relationship with the Lord, I have seen that He desires to touch every aspect of our lives. That includes the way we treat the temple of our body. He wants to renew us, inside and out, so that we can glorify Him to the world.

Jesus gives us the greatest commandment: to love the Lord with all our heart, mind, and soul. He continues on to give us another commandment: “And a second is like it, you shall love your neighbor as yourself.” (Matthew 22:39) It isn’t selfish to care for your body. In fact, we are asked to do so, and in doing so learn to love our neighbors with a high regard.

 I have seen that how I am taking care of my body affects everything else that I am given to steward: my job and the people I serve through it, my relationships, my finances, you name it. I can’t serve others well if I am sleep-deprived or fatigued due to poor diet. Fatigue leads to crabbiness —not an attractive quality on someone who is an ambassador of Christ.

I’ve seen the great benefits that exercise has had in my life. In my case, my preferred exercise is walking. It’s a great way to keep this temple strong. I’ve also found it a great way to connect with others, such as talking a walk with a friend or attending an exercise class together. Prayer walks are another of my favorite things. Admiring nature and conversing with my Creator has helped me in some difficult times and to make some difficult decisions.

The way we steward our bodies now may very well have an impact on our future marriages. I believe that our future spouses will be grateful for the ways in which we have taken care of ourselves. I know that I will be grateful to learn about ways my husband has taken care of himself. I know, too, that my ability to have children could very well be affected by the choices I am making today. Poor health also makes it more difficult to keep up with little ones. When I am stewarding my body in a healthy way, I am making an investment in my future family.

Your body is a tremendous gift from God. Your body is the vehicle through which you live, love, and walk out your purpose. You are unrepeatable, and no one else will ever inhabit the same body. You are a sacred space, one that reveals the glory of God to the world! If you are stewarding your body well, it will be easier to steward the other areas you’ve been given, and thus to use the gifts that you’ve been given by your Creator. Let’s walk in the light and always remember the dignity of our own temples, and that of the people we meet every day.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

lianna-headshot Lianna

Hello! My name is Lianna. I am 28 years old and live in Cleveland, Ohio. I am a case manager for refugee mothers. My favorite things are traveling, learning other languages, singing, and journeying with others. I blog and hope to inspire others at sunflowersojourn.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

