Never Been Kissed (Not Drew Barrymore’s Movie)

frogprince

You have to kiss a few frogs to find your prince charming.

I am romantic at heart! It’s easy to be swept away to follow the passions and desires of my heart to have that fairy tale ending.  But I have a confession to make: I’ve never kissed (or been kissed by a guy). So how could I possibly find my prince charming?

Don’t get me wrong, physical touch is one of my love languages. Being affectionate is important to show affirmation to people around you or even the person that you are interested in pursuing something further, but it is also important not to send the wrong message.

To be honest, I do not intend to kiss any frogs. My prayer is that the person whom I hope to share my first kiss will be with my future husband. While many may not share the same sentiment, boundaries and intimacy are a personal choice reflective of an individual’s values.

Am I implying that those whom had given their first kiss (and more) are people who do not hold commendable values? Of course not! Instead, I hope to share with you my top 3 reasons why I made the decision to wait.

I know how it would affect me

In my prior article, I mentioned the importance of knowing who you are and your self-worth; and because I know that I am a passionate person, I do not wish to awaken love until the time is right (Song of Solomon 8:4). I can hear you telling me that it’s just ‘a kiss’ and nothing further, why am I making a big deal out of it? May I humbly submit to you, that is because for some people a kiss could very easily lead to something more.

I want to honor Jesus (my Saviour and my Lord)

It is a personal conviction in line with my faith journey. It is not a matter of religiosity but a personal decision as a follower of Christ devoid of the complications of being an emotional wreck after a break up which helps me grow into spiritual maturity.

I want to honor my future spouse

Have you ever made or prepared a gift that means so much to you and kept it until the appointed time or occasion to give to the intended person? That is something that I feel led to do. I prayerfully hope to honor my future spouse with something that represents the most important part of who I am.

Nevertheless, to some of you girls out there who are braver than I, my convictions are not intended to make you feel bad or any lesser (just in case you think that those are ‘such high standards’). Believe me, the struggle is real. I too share the same struggles as anyone else in this area.

Ultimately, however, the bride of Christ (i.e. the Church, which we as Christians belong to) is to be presented pure and holy before Him (2 Corinthians 11:2). Let us then comprehend the big picture and hold ourselves to that standard instead.  It is worth the wait.

________________________________________________________________________________________

timmie-liew  Timmie

Hello, my name is Timmie and I’m from Malaysia. I am a lawyer by profession. I am a charismatic, passionate person and enjoy beautiful things in life such as travelling to different cities to appreciate the culture. I love fashion and appreciate ‘coffee time’ with people to talk about life and build meaningful relationships. I’m passionate about the things of God, the Church and authentic leadership. My deepest desire is to embrace all that God has called me to be and be a blessing to whoever that God has placed in my life past, present and future. Our God is a GREAT God, and the best is yet to come !🙂

4 thoughts on “Never Been Kissed (Not Drew Barrymore’s Movie)

  1. Timmie, thank you so much for sharing this! I know from experience the courage that it took for you. I am 31, and just like you, I have never been kissed. So often, it feels like I am the only one in the world left behind. You are beautiful, and I felt so encouraged reading this piece of your story!

    Finding MRP has been such a blessing! Y’all are awesome 🙂

    • Hi Julie ! thank you so much for reading and dropping a note. Your feedback has been very encouraging to us. The journey of purity and holiness is not an easy road & not many would choose it. But I am a firm believer that God journeys TOGETHER with us & He is the one that places the hopes (& desires) in our hearts (Psalm 62:5). Keep trusting HIM.

      Lots of love xoxo

Leave a Reply

