Unexpected Conversation with Jesus

girl

Loves Jesus? Check.

Respectful? Check.

Good breath? Mostly.

Has a sense of humor? Uh, something like it.

Six feet tall? No, he’s precisely 1.7 millimeters taller than you.

Makes six figures? Well, not exactly.

Owns a home? The way his life is set up right now.…

Wait wait wait, Jesus.  I think you got my order wrong.  Maybe you misheard my prayers?  Because I was very specific and I was sure that the man of my dreams would line up with your will.

No, I heard you.  And I know what you desire and what you think you want.  But more than that, I know exactly what you need. 

What you want can sometimes be based solely on what you know.  Things you’ve done before.  Things you’re comfortable with.  And how many broken hearts have you gathered in the name of comfort up until this point?

But I am going to do a new thing.  Something that will stretch your faith and test your trust. However, believe that what I desire for you will soon be something that you desire even more.  Something that you didn’t even see coming.  But something that will bring more glory to my name and more joy to your life than any man from a list could ever do. 

What I’ve created for you will be infinitely better than what you could create for yourself.

So don’t be afraid to seek me when someone may not fit all of your criteria.  Or when someone you’ve noticed, and who’s noticed you, has asked you to try new things.  Or when your list opens your options up to everyone under the sun. Or when your list narrows your options down to, well, just me and Moses. 

As long as I’m in it, different won’t always mean unattractive.  New won’t always beget fear. And your ‘type’ will be exactly who I’ve chosen as my best for you.

______________________________________________________________________________________

roz Roz

Hey there!  My name is Roz.  I’m a full time working, single, homeschooling mother to the world’s funniest 5 year old on the planet.  I’m an introvert who is obsessed with bacon.  I like to play music extremely loudly in my car and will keep singing at full voice even when you turn to stare.  I also blog occasionally over at beautyfullyflawed.com where I write words about Jesus, homeschooling, and the beauty of imperfections.  I look forward to sharing my imperfections with you, as well.

9 thoughts on “Unexpected Conversation with Jesus

  1. Very true!! My husband was almost a complete opposite of what I “used to” find attractive. As a Christian Relationship Coach, I try to tell this truth to women… some receive it, while others turn and walk away like the young, rich man who spoke with Jesus. At the end of the day, it’s a matter of trust! Do you trust that God has the very best in store for you or not?

    Loved this post, Roz!

  2. This was awesome!, Roz Especially “What I’ve created for you will be infinitely better than what you could create for yourself.” Our lists, as lengthy as a wedding gown train, always shrink in the shadow of what God does when we follow His lead.

  3. This is SO good! God knows every crevice of our hearts and what we need. My husband is just a couple inches taller than me, but the Lord knew it would take his quiet strength to help heal my heart.

  4. Pingback: Unexpected Conversations | Beauty. Fully Flawed.

Leave a Reply

