Teapots

teapot

When I was a little girl, I had a tea set that I adored. What I loved most about it was that it wasn’t the plastic toy kind. It was real. Porcelain. And the crown jewel of the whole set was the teapot.

It was a smooth white with pink flowers painted on it. It was dainty and delicate. I thought it so elegant with its spout curved like the neck of swans. But I, at age 8, was very remiss. Within a year, the teacups were scratched, and some saucers were lost.

And as for my beloved teapot?

Well, the teapot was chipped and cracked. The spout I so admired had pieces broken off it. I had used it so much and handled it so carelessly that its quality had deteriorated.

I think women are a lot like teapots. Beautiful vessels created to pour out nourishing care, sweet encouragement, and supportive love.

Refreshing paper cups with attentive concern. Filling mugs with warm words for the emotionally deficient. Topping off tumblers for the parched, the thirsty, and anyone who happens to have an empty glass.

But it can get so where we are always tilted, palms tapping and pounding us, hoping drops will dance out.  And without refreshing and replenishing ourselves, heavy handed use will weaken our effectiveness and sap our joy.

So it’s necessary to retreat and spend time with God to soak in His peace and settle our weariness.

“The apostles gathered around Jesus and reported to Him all they had done and taught. Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, He said to them, “Come with Me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” –Luke 6:30-31

Yes, we were created to pour into the world and into each other. But it’s OK to stop the flow for a spell in order to be filled again.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Jennifer Jen

Hi, there! My name is Jennifer. I’m 32 and live in the D.C. area. I love Jesus, R & B music, and sugar in all its forms :-). In June 2016, I married my amazing husband, Calvin. I was completely single and waiting throughout my entire twenties. So I know the prayers, fears, and tears that come with prolonged singleness very well. I am excited to share my story and encourage single women who are waiting for God’s best!

4 thoughts on “Teapots

Leave a Reply

